https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/issue/feed Journal of the European Honors Council 2023-12-29T16:08:54+01:00 Marca Wolfensberger journal@honorscouncil.eu Open Journal Systems <p>The aim of the Journal of the European Honors Council is to share research results, knowledge and good practices related to talent development in higher education.</p> https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/article/view/213 Introduction to the special issue: Addressing Complex Problems in Higher Education Talent Programs 2023-12-29T16:08:54+01:00 Albert Pilot a.pilot@uu.nl Ron Weerheijm ron@honorscouncil.eu 2023-12-29T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2023 Albert Pilot, Ron Weerheijm https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/article/view/207 The Norwegian Center for Interdisciplinary Education (INTED) 2023-11-28T13:44:31+01:00 Line Horgen Thorstad linehth@student.sv.uio.no Victoria Haynes h.v.haynes@mn.uio.no Ella Idsoe emidsoe@uio.no 2023-12-13T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2023 Line Horgen Thorstad , Victoria Haynes , Ella Idsoe https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/article/view/177 Breaking Boundaries with Generative AI: Good Practice of Unleashing the Power of ChatGPT for Inter- and Transdisciplinary Breakthroughs in the Age of Complexity 2023-03-24T14:20:03+01:00 Beata Jones b.jones@tcu.edu 2023-06-29T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2023 Beata Jones https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/article/view/211 Book Review Book review of: Meaningful Assessment in Interdisciplinary Education: A Practical Handbook for University Teachers 2023-12-14T00:34:27+01:00 Albert Pilot A.Pilot@uu.nl <p>The authors stress that assessment is important as an integral building block of all learning, when assessment stimulates learning and is based on intrinsic motivation. This book focusses on twenty examples in higher education of teachers who in an innovative way assess competences of their students, like integration of disciplines, cooperation, reflection and critical thinking. Many examples are from honors programs in European higher education.</p> 2023-12-20T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2023 Albert Pilot https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/article/view/191 The Virginia Tech Honors Minor 2023-05-08T11:02:48+02:00 Rachael Budowle rbudowle@vt.edu Anne-Lise Velez aknox@vt.edu Stephanie N. Lewis lewissn@exchange.vt.edu 2023-12-08T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2023 Rachael Budowle, Anne-Lise Velez, Stephanie N. Lewis https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/article/view/185 Book Review of Creative Universities: Reimagining Education for Global Challenges and Alternative Futures 2023-04-14T17:05:47+02:00 Maria Garcia Alvarez mf.garcia-alvarez@windesheim.nl 2023-06-29T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2023 Maria Garcia Alvarez https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/article/view/187 Simul Fortior: The Rise of an Honors Collaborative to Address Grand Challenges 2023-09-11T16:22:45+02:00 Rebecca Bott-Knutson rebecca.bott@sdstate.edu Joy Hart joy.hart@louisville.edu Heidi Appel heidi.appel@utoledo.edu Jonathan Kotinek jkotinek@tamu.edu Paul Knox knox@vt.edu William Ziegler ziegler@binghamton.edu Dan Roberts droberts@vsu.edu Andrea Radasanu aradasanu@niu.edu Timothy Nichols timothy.nichols@umontana.edu Leigh Fine leigh.e.fine@gmail.com <p>A dedicated group of honors professionals from 14 institutions across the United States of America (USA) recently emerged to strategize how honors education can prepare students to address the world’s most wicked problems--grand challenges--systematically and holistically. These professionals found a shared passion for their work and quickly began functioning as a team to prepare a federal grant on higher education. Over time, the team identified additional intellectual endeavors to shape the future of honors education. Each professional shares unique skills in service of the larger goals. Leadership for various initiatives transitions to those with relevant expertise and passion and is often shared among multiple people. Sustained collaborations are now recognized as a Collaborative. Members of the Collaborative trust that they are <em>simul fortior</em>--better together--in this high-functioning and reciprocally beneficial working relationship and outline the benefits others may realize in forming similar honors collaboratives.&nbsp;</p> 2023-12-14T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2023 Rebecca Bott-Knutson, Joy Hart, Heidi Appel, Jonathan Kotinek, Paul Knox, William Ziegler, Dan Roberts, Andrea Radasanu, Timothy Nichols, Leigh Fine