https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/issue/feed Journal of the European Honors Council 2024-05-22T00:00:00+02:00 Marca Wolfensberger journal@honorscouncil.eu Open Journal Systems <p>The aim of the Journal of the European Honors Council is to share research results, knowledge and good practices related to talent development, transdisciplinarity and related topics in higher education. </p> https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/article/view/195 The Biomedicine Project Course: Promoting Young Scientists at School and University 2023-07-03T10:14:10+02:00 Marcus Kohnen m.kohnen@uni-muenster.de Inga Kallweit i.kallweit@gymnasium-essen-werden.de Erich Gulbins erich.gulbins@uni-due.de <p>This article presents a cooperation project between science and schools, which aims to provide high-achieving students with initial research experience at university and at the same time to encourage these students to take up medical or scientific courses of study. This is linked to the university's perspective of being able to attract potentially outstanding young scientists, especially in biomedical research. Thus, the project offers a win-win effect for all parties involved from school and university (Irmer, 2012). Feedback from an online survey of participating project students illustrates that even high demands can be motivating for students if the offer meets the students' interest and leads to experiences of self-efficacy. This article is intended to encourage the search for such opportunities for cooperation between schools and universities and to focus more strongly on their importance in generating young scientists.</p> 2024-05-22T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2024 Marcus Kohnen, Inga Kallweit, Erich Gulbins https://jehc.eu/index.php/jehc/article/view/205 Similarities and differences in teaching behavior for honors and regular bachelor’s education 2024-04-11T17:42:36+02:00 Tineke Kingma t.kingma@windesheim.nl Anneke Smits aeh.smits@windesheim.nl Marjolein Heijne-Penninga marjolein.penninga@adenium.nl Debbie Jaarsma a.d.c.jaarsma@uu.nl Joke Voogt j.m.voogt@uva.nl <p>Many institutions of higher education offer honors education, but research on teacher behavior in honors classes is scarce. Our aim is to gain deeper understanding of how teachers adapt their teaching practices in the honors classroom as compared with the regular classroom. We conducted semi-structured interviews with 12 Dutch teachers who teach in both types of classroom. Using self-determination theory as an analytical framework, we found that teachers supported the basic psychological needs of autonomy, competence, and relatedness in both settings in order to promote intrinsic motivation. However, there were differences in how and why these behaviors were enacted. Teachers had different ways of expressing basic psychological needs. In the regular classroom, the main focus of the teachers is on preparing students to become autonomous professionals, whereas in the honors classroom, the main focus is on personal development and individual learning.</p> 2024-05-22T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2024 Tineke Kingma, Anneke Smits, Marjolein Heijne-Penninga, Debbie Jaarsma, Joke Voogt